Home Birds – the waterfowel 2

Well my second trip to the pond – this time I learnt from my last trip – I checked the settings on the camera and I also got the light behind me as I shot away:

Page now edited with new re-edited versions of all the shots and a new shot from the same trip – I have come a long way with editing since these were origanly taken

All Taken with:
Cannon EOS 400D
Sigma 70-300mm f/4-5.6 DG Macro lens
Tripod
For settings save pic to pc and review properties

(note I am just the photographer, not the keeper -so breed names will have to be edited in once I know them!)

DUCK PROFILE SHOTS

IMG_0291
IMG_0341IMG_0345 IMG_0379 IMG_0473 IMG_0385

IMG_0302
These chaps were hiding away on land last time – I was very glad from them to be on the water – even though they were only on for a short time. Though there is only one in this shot there were 3 males on the water at once!

LIVING ACTION SHOTS

IMG_0386 IMG_0403
When its bath time for one, its bath time for all! Several ducks started bathing, and here are two of the best of them doing just that – water everywhere

IMG_0479
Bath time over, time for a preen – I really like the calm look in this one’s closed eye

IMG_0435
AUSTRALIAN SHELL DUCK (male and female)
I forget which is which, but I think the one in the foreground is the male. I really really like this one for the sense of life it has – though I would have liked to have had a little greater depth of field to get both ducks in focus.

Lessons learnt:
1) again more practice at looking at the whole picture – not just the duck
2) try to get the ducks in more lively motions rather than just sitting there
3) get down just a little lower – the water level if possible

Leave a Reply

