Seagulls and lunch

Well family decided to go out and have fish and chips down in Aldebrough and so I decided that as well as my fish and chips I would try to get some seagulls on the wing. Now the first problem with this trip was that it was a grey day – which meant boring grey skies and a boring grey sea. Those problems aside I decided that the practice would do me good; and I had the perfect bait — the remains of my fish and chips!
So birds baited with the remains of fish I used not my tripod, but a railing for support – it worked well:

All Taken with
Cannon EOS 400D
Sigma 70-300mm f/4-5.6 DG Macro lens
metal railing!!
For settings save pic to pc and review properties

Seagulls!

IMG_0074
Probably the best shot I got that day of a bird in flight.

IMG_0123 (2) IMG_0123_filteredb
I like the angle of flight in this one, different from the usually seen angles – so I made a crop, getting rid of the empty skies

IMG_0067

I have seen other shots like this and as with those the limited depth of field leave the bird looking unatural and strange –

IMG_0114
Defending his right to my former lunch (that orangey thing in the corner).

Calling

IMG_0137 IMG_0136 IMG_0135
I added more saturation to the last of these three and I really like the added light and colour that it adds to the pic – really makes it stand out a little more in the grim light – but with the sky showing overcast it’s a little fake looking if one looks closely!

Lessons learnt:
1) dim lighting makes getting fast shots tricky – better lighting would make it easier to shoot with a quicker shutter speed
2) however then I have to deal with the glare off the wings – I think were I to try these again in better light I would either have to go during the magic hours or use a polarizer on the lens to eliminate the glare
3) increasing saturation works well at countering a lack of light – but if the sky is showing overcast in the pic then the effect is lost a little!

Leave a Reply

