Wanderings in egham – macro

Well I am back in Egham again – trapped away from the pond and the ducks and without access to anything wild (though I did see one deer – course it was only there because my camera wasn’t).
So I decided to try out something new to me – macro photography — well using the macro mode on my lens at any rate. So off I went into the woods during the early afternoon; the sun was still bright and the skies clear so I headed into the woods where there was some shade on this very hot day. I positioned myself so that the subjects in the wood were in the direct sunlight from the above – filtered slightly by the canopy above. I found that whilst I could set ISO a low as possible in some cases, there were times when wind meant that I have to not only be lucky with taking the shot but also that I needed to up the ISO. Further I really closed down my aperture (f8-16 range) so as to get as much of the flowers in focus as I could.

All taken with:
Cannon ESO 400D
Sigma 70-300mm f/4-5.6 DG Macro lens
For settings save pic to pc and review properties

Blue Bells

IMG_0006 IMG_0016
For early first attempts these came out beyond what I hoped for. The backgrounds and lighting were great – a little playing around with apertures needed to always get a shot all in focus, but that is half the fun.

IMG_0027 IMG_0020
These two shots I think started my real liking for macro work – originally I sat down to get a wide view of the fields of blue – and then a bee flew in, so I just had to capture him in the shots as well. Some have said that these are very busy shots with a lot of distractions – I have to agree a little, but these are still fav shots of mine

IMG_0232 IMG_0242 IMG_0247
This was another case of being in the right place at the right time. These shots were taken from outside the woods – in the full suns light of an open field – so a little more tricky to get the whites right, but I was able to get them without blowing them out. The wasp was another case of a very welcome addition – and as for the second insect I did not notice him till I got back to process these shots.

Learning’s:

1) Macro is fun – I think partly as unlike birds and beasts you get more control over the situation and also more time to work with a shot. This means you get to try out all sorts of different settings to get the desired effect – rather than with wildlife where many shots are taken on the spur of the moment.

2) Aperture is key in this – you need a small aperture between f8 and f16 to really get the depth of field – going all the way up to f20 is not out of the question sometimes.

Leave a Reply

