A day of flowers and cats

Well I am on a shooting spree with this new tripod, its really great not to be limited by it and to have it enhance what I can shoot. However it is no lightweight thing and I think I will still hand on to my older one as it is much lighter and easier to open out (open one leg and all 3 open out); its the sort of thing I can see myself using in a zoo such as I have done before (though the temptation to use the new one might mean that the older will collect some dust).
Anyway enough rambling, time for some shots – only a few more today, but some really important ones as well.

All shots taken with:
Cannon ESO 400D
Sigma 70-300mm f/4-5.6 DG Macro lens
Tripod 055XPROB + 322RC2

For settings save pic to pc and review properties

Flowers

IMG_0016 IMG_0016b

This shot I like, even though it is very busy it has got some great details in it – right into the insides of the flower. I have been experimenting with getting my lens as close as I can with the aid of a focusing rail which (when I feel inclined to use it) does let me get that little bit closer without having to move the tripod and camera (which often results in me ending up that faction bit too close).

IMG_0014
Another busy shot and one where I would have liked just a little greater depth of field ( shot at f16 so either f18 or 20 for more). However I really like this, its not too central and it has, what I think, is an intesting background to it.

IMG_0049
Wind and flash lead to this shot – its strange and something that I don’t think I could repeat. I rather like this and what I got – its intresting and very different (ps that is like it was from camera with only a few touchups – so no massive edit change to get this result.

cat

IMG_0046 IMG_0045
Do I need a reason to show off me cat? Well here she is – pets are something that I find you end up with a lot of “snaps” of and not many really good “shots” of so I was really glad to get some of her in a really good pose.

Lesson’s learnt

1) Sometimes breaking the rules works out really well

2) Sometimes the unplanned and unexpected combine to make something beautiful

Leave a Reply

