A riot of flowers 2

And back I go again – really not much more to say, but I am loving the warm and bright weather we are having at the moment as it makes for great lighting, though I still end up shooting at the “Wrong” time of the day — that is any time out of dawn and sunset. One day I will play around in those lights.

All shots taken with:
Cannon ESO 400D
Sigma 70-300mm f/4-5.6 DG Macro lens
Tripod 055XPROB + 322RC2

for settings save to computer and review properties.

IMG_0003 IMG_0017
well as you might be able to tell I love the sigma lens for flowers – my real only problem is that is still has a huge minimum focusing distance which is still taking some getting used to with work.

IMG_0008
Well the sigma might not be able to do proper macro work, but that still does not stop me trying; and when resized for the web the results are good enough for me – I just wish I could get the full-sized version looking this sharp.

IMG_0024 IMG_0029
These my dad had in a bird pen that was about to be cleaned out – mushrooms and all – so I took advantage to get some shots. I really really like the first shot; the dimmer light in the woods where the pen was helped to filter out some of the light and then the background (sheeting over bird wire) helped to make for an empty background – a little increase of the backs in RAW editing and a wonderful shot. The flash helped out as well, though the harsh light of it can be seen on the ground – but its better than no flash by a long way!

IMG_0057 IMG_0056
Well back to flowers and this was a less than ideal specemin, but it did provide for some good practice. I like the composition that I got on the second shot.

IMG_0044 IMG_0045
Just like her grandmother (the earlier cat shots) this is the little pigeon killer in the family! A lovely cat with a really nice temperment, she will even walk into the chicken pens as my dad goes round with the feed in the mornings and won’t bother the chickens on bit – however she is certainly not allowed in the pheasant pens!

And finally as I got stitched up to cook the BBQ I got a chance to use the camera in the evening proper. So in between making sure the sausages were not burning I took the chance for a few shots.

IMG_0064 IMG_0061 IMG_0069
The lighting is different and the flash is now highlighting the head of the flower far more than in the past in most cases which creates a very different feel and look to the earlier shots were there is lots of ambient light.

And finally: a certain someone smells food cooking outside!
IMG_0075

However with BBQ and ducks on this side of the door she is not allowed out. So she trys to be a cat!
IMG_0080

After failing in this endeavour she resorts to the long wait tactic and dreams of sausages, chicken and beef.
IMG_0066

Lessons Learnt

1) Lighting I have found is very key with this work and I am using the flash all the time so there is a real pressure on me to try and get a good proper flash unit at some point rather than my popup.

2) Flash is very important in the evenings and really makes a difference to shots

3) Huskies cannot fit though cat flaps – but they can end up looking like an ornament when trying

2 Responses to “A riot of flowers 2”

  1. The Wicked Sword Maiden Says:

    Hi there OR…

    Great photographs and information for camera use and gear, thank you.

  2. Thanks for your beautiful photos! They are stunning, and I they are appreciated by BFD and myself… they are besutiful!!!! I wish I had your talent!

Leave a Reply

