Small Garden Birds

Well despite having 4 cats on site we do have a wide selection of small birds in our garden, party due to the diverse trees and hedges in the locality. Here is a selection of shot I have got of them on different days; been saving them up for a larger post as often you only get time for one shot before they are off!

Cannon EOS 400D
Sigma 70-300mm f/4-5.6 DG Macro lens
Tripod

For settings save pic to pc and review properties

Robin

Little back story to these shots; I had to clear a section of ground of weeds, leaving it bare earth which attracted the gardens semi-tame robin. The little fellow has got used to my dad feeding the other birds we keep and so has tagged along for some extra food, so he has no fear of flying closer to people than other birds in the garden. Thus once I had cleared the ground he came by to get some insects and I got the chance to get some shots of him.

IMG_0019
f5.6, ISO800, 1/60sec – no flash
This was taken in the evening in a shaded place, so I upped the ISO to get more light into the camera to ensure that I got enough for a decent shot. It was hard as whilst he was getting close he was behind a lot of bits of twig and such – this shot on the gate was all I could get with him sharp and without anything in the way.

IMG_0025
f5.6, ISO 800, 1.60
Well to make sure I took a few shots with the flash as well, a little bit of overkill here as this was before I was using the custom diffuser and any exposure compensation on the flash. Add that to the ISO which I forgot to lower and it was overkill with light. You can see on the wood the clear effect of the flash.

IMG_0007 - 1000

Crop of him:
IMG_0007 - close
f5.6 ISO 400, 1/15sec
Well he came inside this time and got stuck in the dinning room. So before I let him out I grabbed the camera and tripod and took a shot of him. I used a high ISO as he was moving around a lot so I wanted light and speed on my side with shooting.

Song Thrush

IMG_0036
f18, ISO 200, 1/60sec
Shot in the late afternoon just after the robin. Honestly I can’t remember why I selected f18 for this shot – it seemed like a good idea at the time and it has paid off well with a nice clear shot of him. A lot brighter up here so there was enough light around not to use the flash, yet the wind and him singing made it prudent to use ISO 200.

Pigeon

IMG_0294
f5.6, ISO 100, 1/640sec

Same tree as before, but this time with considerably better light and also a more sane aperture.

Gold Finch

Little story to these as well; for a good long while a finch was flying onto my windowsill and pecking at the glass for small bugs – something that shocked my every time as when I use the computer my back is to the window. After a long while of him vanishing every time I got the camera facing him I managed to get a handful of shots of him sitting on the wire just outside my window.

IMG_0055
f8, ISO 400, 1/250sec

IMG_0072 copy
f8, ISO 400, 1/320sec

Both of these are crops of the centre of a shot taken, thus both are a little lacking in overall quality of shot. I think if I get another chance I would use the flash (with custom diffuser) to try and get more light control as the light was not ideal in theses shots.

Chaffinch

chaffinchIMG_0045
f8, ISO 400, 1/250sec

This little chap would scare off the other finch for his right to land on the wire!

Leave a Reply

