A Collection of Random Shots

Well here is a collection of shots which I have not added to the blog – often as they were on one off trips out and I did not feel like making a whole blog entry for a single photo.

All shots taken with:
Cannon ESO 400D
Sigma 70-300mm f/4-5.6 DG Macro lens
Tripod (both the 055XPROB + 322RC2 and the old cheapy one)
ps – it really says something about my kit when I can say that I only ever use one lens!

IMG_0134
f16, ISO 100, 1/20sec

A very early flower shot of mine. I really liked this, barring the out of focus flower that gets in the way. Its also one of the few shots where I have got closer to the flower to show its inner details.

IMG_0241
f5.6, ISO 400, 1/8sec

A tricky shot as when that eye is open the head its in tends to move around a lot! An early macro experiment shot of mine and I regret not selecting a smaller aperture for that greater depth within the photo, though it was taken inside and there was not that much light around so I might not had enough light to reduce the aperture by too much. Add to that the fact that I underexposed by 1 stop to try and cancel out the flash glare on her fur – that certainly worked well, but as this was in the age before I was using the custom diffuser you can clearly see the flash refection in the eye.

This next series of shots were taken at a local fairground. I arrived only at the end of the last falconry display and tried my best to get some shots of the birds, but I was drastically lacking in both a good long (and sharp) lens and also in any experience of shooting such shots. Add to that the fact that it was in the middle of a show ring, so from any angle there were people in the way of shots. For these I moved out of RAW and into JPEG in an attempt to get more frames per second and also to be able to shoot for longer as JPEG does not fill up the buffer as quick as RAW. I don’t know how much I gained or lost by this, as I missed the additional editing features of RAW shooting

IMG_0110 copy
f5.6, ISO 400, 1/3200sec

Probably the best shot I got – even though the sun has overexposed one side of him. The bright light on the day also allowed me to get very fast shutter speeds whilst shooting in aperture priority mode

IMG_0096
f5.6, ISO 400, 1/1600sec

This shows off nicely the busy background of people that surrouneded the display

IMG_0100
f5.6, ISO 400, 1/1600sec

The only in-flight shot I got which was sharp – shame about the angle on the bird. This was also crop of the centre of a shot, removing the surroundings of people.

In the end a mixed bunch of shots – many of which are just me experimenting with different things, so lots of room for more practice

Leave a Reply

