Misty Waters

Well whilst up in Yorkshire along with all the rain (that thankfully held off) there are also a great collection of waterfalls, fast flowing rivers and rapids and such – great for some slow water shots. I have only tried this once before and had good success then, so I decided to give it a second try. I generally stuck to manual exposures, but did not use bulb mode much if at all – simply as I did not have a remote with me and holding down on the shutter with your hand can add shake.

All shots taken with:
Cannon ESO 400D
Canon 70-200mm f2.8 IS
Tripod 055XPROB + 322RC2

For exif data save and review properties of the thumbnail version only – exif not attached to larger versions of shots.

Malham Cove

IMG_0903
f20, ISO 100, 1/4sec, no flash, manual mode.
First grabshot taken handheld so a little more blurry than I would have liked – also grass I found is a bad thing to have in the frame as if there is any wind it ends up blurring due to the longer exposure.

IMG_0909
f32, ISO 100, 0.4sec, no flash, manual mode.
Tripod used this time – though on reflection I am shooting rather fine for best sharpness – it’s just that these first three shots were taken in rather too bright light – an hour or so later and light was getting about right for these such shots.

IMG_0918
f32, ISO 100, 1.6sec, no flash, manual mode.
A zoomed shot that I think as worked well – this was as low as I could take the camera in the time I had (walking with family is a pain at times as they keep going on leaving you to have to catch up which makes you shoot rather quicker than you would ideally. I also boosted the contrast on this shot in curves to make it a little more arty – I thought it worked well.

Aysgath Falls

A great place for this sort of photography, a real shame we arrived very late in the dark which whilst allowing for long exposures, it was a pain to focus on. I had to manually focus in the dark (as my af assist beam was not working) and on reflection I should have chosen a smaller aperture and gone for longer exposure as well as increased ISO – f2.8 was just too fine even though I wanted light in due to the hour. The light, however, made for some very interesting results.

IMG_1084
f2.6, ISO 100, 1.6sec, flash fired, manual mode.

IMG_1090
f2.8, ISO 100, 2.5sec, flash fired, manual mode.

IMG_1078
f2.8, ISO 100, 1sec, flash fired, manual mode.

IMG_1073
f2.8, ISO 100, 0.4sec, flash fired, manual mode
I think this is my favourite shot from the day.

IMG_1087
f2.8, ISO 100, 10sec, flash fired, manual mode.
Believe it or not with the overhang this corner was almost totally black – so I am very glad with the result I got – almost looks like it was taken in the daylight!
Overall I was pleased with the result and would love a chance to go back and try again with this sort of photography. There is a lot of scope for experimentation and I have yet to get a shot taken in good soft evening light.

Lessons Learnt

1) Use a wider aperture (but not too wide) to get more depth of field and raise ISO and shutter speed to compensate – even in the darkest of hours

2) try to avoid anything that might move (aside from the water) in a shot such as grasses.

Leave a Reply

