Experiences with macro 4 – with extra bird!

Well not too much to introduce this one with really, I am starting now to get on top of exposing for macro photos and getting both the depth of field that I want with the blur in the background. Working with the flash is getting easier, though I admit its in auto flash fire mode almost all the time – sometimes I get the time for a preflash metering, but often the insects don’t give me the time for such a luxury. I am still shooting all my macro with the settings in manual mode and being handheld – I just find that with a tripod I am not fast enough to catch the insects.

All shots taken with:
Canon 400D
Sigma 150mm macro
speedlite 580M2+Limiquest softbox

To view exif data review properties of the thumbnails – exif not attached to larger versions

IMG_0069

and a closer crop of the above:

f13, ISO 200, 1/200sec
Not the best birding settings and the shot is a little dark, but this was a grabshot in the garden just as he flew by whilst I was shooting macro; and proof that the 150mm is a versatile little lens. Note that with the closer crop the image quality is not perfect, but much of this I attribute to my own selection of settings at the time of shooting rather than any weakness in the lens itself.

Now back to your regular insect program:

IMG_0076
f13, ISO 200, 1/100sec
I am really happy to have this shot – the action of a fly drinking from a small drop of water I have captured only once before, but it was in those early days and the flash failed to fire -the result was a horribly underexposed shot. Now at least I have a well exposed shot which has all the insect within the frame – composition might be a little weak here, but that is something for next time (3rd time lucky :))

IMG_0100
f13, ISO 200, 1/125sec

IMG_0101
f13, ISO 200, 1/125sec
Until I really looked and tried to capture with my camera, I never before noticed the speed, height and distance that a simply butterfly can cover; especially these little cabbage butterflies which rest only for a few seconds on a flower before moving onto the next. Even when feeding they only feed for short bursts before flying on – that means that these two photos involved a lot of running and missed chances just to keep up with them. Not easy, but when you get to see the results you feel that its worth chasing them all over the garden.

Leave a Reply

